Total Theatre Awards – 2012 Winners Announced

The winners of the Total Theatre Awards 2012 were announced at a ceremony at the Hunt and Darton Cafe on Thursday 23 August.

Six shows were awarded across three categories:


Emerging Companies/Artists:

XXXO (Belgium)
Charlotte De Bruyne & Nathalie Marie Verbeke, Supported by Ontroerend Goed & Richard Jordan, in association with Pleasance (Pleasance Courtyard)


Physical / Visual Theatre:

Caesarean Section – Essays on Suicide (Poland)
Teatr Zar (Summerhall)

(remor) (Spain)
Res de Res (C Nova)


Innovation, Experimentation & Playing with Form:

All That is Wrong (Belgium)
Ontroerend Goed, Laika, Richard Jordan Productions, Drum Theatre Plymouth (Traverse)

Bullet Catch (Scotland)
Arches presents Rob Drummond (Traverse)

Doctor Brown – Befrdfgth (England)
Soho Theatre and the Mason Sisters @ PBJ (Underbelly Cowgate)


A special award for a significant contribution to ‘total theatre’ went to:

Helen Lannaghan and Joseph Seelig, co-directors of the London International Mime Festival


Congratulations to all the winners, and to all the shortlisted artists and companies of the Total Theatre Awards 2012!