Total Theatre Awards 2018

Total Theatre Awards 2018 Announced

485 shows assessed in total across all eligible categories

Seven awards presented to artists across five categories

A Significant Contribution Award also awarded 

Since 1997, the Total Theatre Awards have been recognising innovative and artist-led performance at the Edinburgh Festival Fringe. We are delighted to announce today the winners of the Total Theatre Awards 2018. Over the course of this year’s Edinburgh Festival Fringe 29 peer assessors, comprising of artists, producers, programmers, curators, critics and academics assessed 461 shows across the first 11 days of the festival, from which a shortlist of 22 nominated shows was announced on 16 August 2018.

Following this, the nominated shows were viewed by a panel of 22 judges who have awarded seven awards across five categories – one Total Theatre & Theatre Deli Award for an Emerging Company / Artist, two awards for Physical/Visual Theatre, one Total Theatre & Jacksons Lane Award for Circus, one Total Theatre & The Place Award for Dance, and two awards for Innovation, Experimentation and Playing With Form. One Significant Contribution Award is also presented.

Speaking about the award winners, Co-Directors Jo Crowley and Becki Haines said;

Total Theatre continually and rigorously re-evaluates what performance is and what it can be by championing artists who are committed to innovation. The shortlisted artists and winners in 2018 have all built upon our understanding and articulation of this. The Shortlisted and winning shows evidence the creative potential that can be found in providing space for visionary artists and theatre makers to create without censors, and to share their voices directly and unfiltered to an audience.

We are not alone in identifying underrepresented practitioners and voices in this festival and we are moving forward on tangible steps with partners, to explore how we might provide resources and opportunities to better support and develop the artists, critical voices and leaders who are not a part of the conversation at this point.


Please find details of all the winners below


The Total Theatre Award Winners 2018 are:


Total Theatre & Theatre Deli Award for an Emerging Company / Artist

Cock, Cock… Who’s There?

Samira Elagoz in association with From Start to Finnish (Finland)

Physical / Visual Theatre

Another One

By Lobke Leirens and Maxim Storms
Vooruit, Arenbergschouwburg, Big in Belgium, Richard Jordan Productions, TRP, Summerhall (Belgium)


Chaliwaté Company and Focus Company (Belgium)

Total Theatre & Jacksons Lane Award for Circus

Casting Off
Sharon Burgess Productions and A Good Catch (Australia)

Total Theatre & The Place Award for Dance


V / DA and MHz, in association with Feral (Scotland)

Innovation, Experimentation & Playing with Form

Natalie Palamides: NATE

Soho Theatre (England/United States)

Pussy Riot: Riot Days

One Inch Badge (England/Russia)

Significant Contribution Award

Le Gateau Chocolat (featured image, above)


Press Enquiries: 

Elin Morgan 07984 816 948
Rosie Bauer 07963 513 891 


Industry Enquiries

Jo Crowley, Co-Director, on 07843 274684 /

Becki Haines, Co-Director on 07732 818401/


The Judging panel for the 2018 Total Theatre Awards years awards is; 

Nick Anderson (Independent Producer, Founder of Amplifier), Adrian Berry (Artistic Director, Jacksons Lane), Emma Blackman (Producer & Programmer, Theatre Deli), Jessica Bowles (Course Leader MA/MFA Creative Producing Royal Central School of Speech & Drama), Matt Burman (Artistic Director, Cambridge Junction) Paul Burns (Interim Head of Dance, Creative Scotland), Christina Elliot (Senior Producer, The Place), Helen Freshwater (Reader in Theatre & Performance, University Newcastle), Simon Hart (Artistic Director, Puppet Animation Scotland), Donald Hutera  (Dance Writer, The Times & Dramaturg), Kevin Jamieson (Senior Producer Theatre, HOME Manchester), Sacha Lee (Artistic Director, The Point & The Berry Theatre), Jaine Lumdson  (Theatre Officer, Creative Scotland), Dorothy Max Prior (Editor, Total Theatre Magazine), Aislinn Mulligan (Artist & Co-Director, Circumference), Shona Reppe (Artist & Previous TTA winner), Mary Reoder (Programming Manager, UMS, Ann Arbour Michigan – USA), Andy Roberts (Programme Director, The ShowRoom Chichester & Co-Artistic Director Bootworks Theatre & Previous TTA winner), Layla Rosa  (Artist, Shunt & Previous TTA winner), Kei Saito (Independent Producer – Japan), Roland Smith (Co-Artistic Director, Theatre Deli), Degna Stone (Independent Producer & Poet), Filip Tielens (Independent Writer & Critic – Belgium). Natalie Querol, (Director, Empty Space), chair of Judging Meeting.

With huge thanks to our assessors; a peer panel of academics, artists, critics, curators, producers, programmers and other arts professionals:

Adam Smith, Alex Brenner, Alex Curtis-Rodriguez, Alice Massey, Alister Lownie, Anne Mulleners, Barra Collins, Beth Jerpersen, Ceriann Williams, Cheryl Martin, Daniel Kok, Ellice Stevens, Hannah McPake, Jess Mable Jones, Jo Mackie, Julia Croft, Kamaal Hussain, Kate Kavanagh, Kirsten McPake, Leo Burtin, Lizzie Jenkins, Matt Rogers, Melanie Purdie, Michael Norton, Paul Evans, Philippa Hamley, Roxanne Carney, Sally Marie and Sarah Colson.

About the Total Theatre Awards / Total Theatre Network

Honouring work by professional artists and companies at various stages in their professional development, the Total Theatre Awards have an international reputation for rigour and excellence.  Cherished by artists and programmers alike, the Total Theatre Awards involve a rigorous two-stage peer to peer assessment and Judging process, bringing together artists, critics, presenters, producers and academics to debate and award excellence.

The Total Theatre Awards are produced by Total Theatre Network, an independent charity (Mime Action Group) committed to supporting independent artists and artistic process, Total Theatre Networks ambition is to create the conditions for the UKs’ independent theatre sector to be recognised, sustainable & to thrive by: Identifying, celebrating & giving visibility to exceptionally talented artists; Providing networking & professional development activities for independent practitioners; Playing a critical role in exploring artistic excellence, evolving form & developing understanding of an ever-changing contemporary performance landscape.

Please note Total Theatre Awards and Total Theatre Network operate independently to Total Theatre Magazine.  | @TotalTheatreAwd | #totaltheatreaward



This entry was posted in News and tagged on by .
Dorothy Max Prior

About Dorothy Max Prior

Dorothy Max Prior is the editor of Total Theatre Magazine, and is also a performer, writer, dramaturg and choreographer/director working in theatre, dance, installation and outdoor arts. Much of her work is sited in public spaces or in venues other than regular theatres. She also writes essays and stories, some of which are published and some of which languish in bottom drawers – and she teaches drama, dance and creative non-fiction writing.